## BOY SCOUT TROOP 132 1966 Annual Report

The Mt. Carmel Scout Troop meets from September through June each Monday evening at 6:45.

In January 1966 twenty-six boys were actively participating in the program. When the troop reorganized in September 1966, thirty-seven boys registered.

Scout Troop 132 has boys at all levels of advancement, from Tenderfoot to Eagle. A cub and a Webelos program is also available.

Swimming instruction is given at the N.E. Jr. High School pool under the instruction of Graham Kairies. By the time summer camp time comes, nearly all of our boys are at least first class swimmers.

A two day Winter Camp was held in March at a heated cabin in Wisconsin. Activities included hiking and snow play.

The Spring Camporee, a double overnight, was held at Boardman, Wisconsin. Most of the troop participated.

Summer Camp was held for a two week period at the Birch Bend Camp on Round Lake near Harding, Minnesota. Thirteen boys participated and thirty-two merit badges were earned in addition to regular advancement. Bruce Ellenfeldt, a qualified water safety instructor was hired by the committee for the two week period. Wayne Mariette spent the first week and George Jacenko and Charles Kirk spent the second week as adult leaders, Claire Timmons, Merle Erickson, Ted Trout, Dick Foster and Paul Jacobson also spent a day or so each. Due to the fund raising activities the cost of summer camp was only \$25.00 per boy.

The Fall Campout was held at Rum River, This was combined with a Court of Honor at which the boys received the merit badges and advancements earned at Summer Camp.

During the year two boys, Terry and Peter Utphall received the Pro Deo Et Patria award. This award requires at least 150 hours of work in the church. This includes ushering, pew duty acolyting, and helping at church dinners. It takes about three years to earn this award.

Bradley Hatlestad and Brian Jacenko received their Eagle Award December 19, 1966. The Eagle Scout must have earned 21 merit badges after becoming a first class scout.

Two plaques in the Narthex dedicated to the memory of Walter Rolek list the names of the boys who have earned the Pro Deo and Eagle Awards.

Fund raising, activities included: two paper sales and a candy sale in December.

The Scoutmaster at the beginning of the year was Robert Kush, the assistant was James Timmons, When the troop reorganized in September; Richard Foster was named Scoutmaster assisted by Ted Trout. The 1967 committee is Ron West, Institutional Representative; Claire Timmons, Chairman; and committeeman Merle Erickson, Grant Nordahl, George Jacenko, Don Hatlestad, Douglas Davis, and Charles Kirk.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Charles Kirk Committeeman